Senate Majority Leader-elect Arlan Meekhof Announces Key Leadership Posts

LANSING, Mich. – Newly elected Senate Majority Leader Arlan Meekhof announced Wednesday the appointment of two key leadership positions for the next legislative session, as well as Chairs and committee members for a formal transition process.

First, Senator Meekhof (R-West Olive) announced that Senator Dave Hildenbrand (R-Lowell) will be the new Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee, taking over for the current Chair, Senator Roger Kahn (R-Saginaw), after the new legislative session begins in January.

“I’m very proud that my first committee chair announcement is the appointment of Senator Dave Hildenbrand to lead the Appropriations Committee,” said Meekhof. “Dave has the experience, leadership and common sense we need to build on the great work of current Chairman Kahn, and to work closely with the Governor and the House to balance the budget, control spending and protect Michigan’s hard-working taxpayers.”

Senator Meekhof also announced today that his current Chief of Staff, Bob DeVries, will serve as Chief of Staff to the Senate Majority Leader. In this role DeVries will oversee all Senate staff operations and manage the Majority Leader’s office.

“As my current Chief of Staff, Bob has had a tremendous hand in helping me both manage my Senate Office and my role as Floor Leader,” added Meekhof. “As a result, he’s had the opportunity to work closely with Senate leadership and Senator Richardville’s team for the last four years. I’m confident his transition will be seamless, and that he’ll play a significant role in helping to manage and coordinate the largest Senate caucus in 60 years.”

DeVries has a B.S. in Political Science from Grand Valley State University and a J.D. from Thomas M. Cooley School of Law.  He has worked for Senator Meekhof for eight years.

Finally, Senator Meekhof announced a transition process consisting of the appointment of two committees.

“I have asked Senator Jim Marleau (R-Lake Orion) to Chair the Committee on Committees and Senator Dave Robertson (R-Grand Blanc) to Chair the Policy Development Committee.  I trust these two Senators to help me lead our new caucus into the new term,” Meekhof said.

The Transition Committees will be comprised of the following senators:

Committee on Committees
• Senator Jim Marleau, Chair (R-Lake Orion)
• Senator Darwin Booher (R-Evart)
• Senator-elect Jim Stamas (R-Midland)
• Senator-elect Mike Shirkey (R-Clark Lake)

Policy Development Committee
• Senator Dave Robertson, Chair (R-Grand Blanc)
• Senator Goeff Hansen (R-Hart)
• Senator-elect Wayne Schmidt (R-Traverse City)
• Senator-elect Margaret O'Brien (R-Portage)

“I am excited about the energy, ideas and commitment this newly elected caucus will bring to the legislative process,” concluded Meekhof. “While we still have to deal with some tough issues in Lame Duck, I know that the recently elected caucus is also ready to hit the ground running in 2015. We’ll have an outstanding team, and I look forward to providing further announcements in the coming days and weeks.”


Arlan Meekhof elected Senate Majority Leader

LANSING—Sen. Arlan Meekhof was unanimously elected by the Senate Republican caucus on Thursday to be the next Michigan Senate Majority Leader.

“I am honored and humbled to have earned the trust of my colleagues to serve as the leader of this amazing caucus of talented men and women,” said Senate Majority Leader-elect Meekhof, R-West Olive. “I am excited to begin this new role as we continue moving Michigan forward.

“I also want the residents of the 30th District to know that despite my new responsibilities, I will remain focused on working hard for the people of West Michigan.”

Meekhof was elected on Tuesday to a second term as state senator for the 30th Senate District. He currently serves as Senate Majority Floor Leader and will begin his tenure as Senate Majority Leader when the next Legislature takes office in January.

Prior to becoming a senator, Meekhof served four years in the Michigan House of Representatives in the 89th District from 2007-2010.

Arlan has lived in Olive Township with his wife Barb for nearly 30 years. They have three adult children and four grandchildren.

“As leader, I look forward to ensuring our caucus efforts will continue to be dedicated to improving our great state,” Meekhof said. “We have achieved much during the past four years, but the job isn’t done. We must continue to make Michigan competitive for new jobs and investment, ensure our students get a quality education that prepares them for success and reduce the burden of government on Michigan families and small businesses.”